Very Successful CCS Awards Night

Congratulations to all award winners at the Carrigaline Community School Annual Awards Ceremony, which was held on Monday, January 16th at Carrigaline Court Hotel.

MC for the evening was Ms. Cooke, while music was provided by CCS Voices and CCS Trad. Award were presented across a wide range of categories (see all winners below), with the overall Student of the Year awards going to Hannah Shalloo (6th Year 2015/16) and Allex Kiely.

Guest speaker, Bríd Stack, 11-time All-Ireland Ladies Football winner and 7-time All-Star, and also a teacher of PE and Maths at Carrigaline Community School, gave an inspiring address, while special guest, Paralympic silver medallist and past-pupil, Niamh McCarthy, received a Hall of Fame Award in recognition of her outstanding achievements. There was a surprise at the end of the night, as Ms. Stack was also presented with a special Hall of Fame Award.

The event was also addressed by Mr. Paul Burke, Principal, Mr. Hugh Crowley, Chairperson of the Board of Management, and Ciara Gavin, Chairperson of the Students’ Council. Scroll down for photos!

Full List of Winners

Academic Awards

Highest Academic Achievement at Leaving Certificate: Liam Toebes

Highest Academic Achievement at Leaving Certificate Applied 2:Rachel Lane

Highest Academic Achievement at Junior Certificate: Alannah Neff

Student of the Year Awards – Junior Cycle

First Year Students of the Year

  • John Fitzsimons
  • Jack Clarke
  • Aideen O’Mahony
  • Clara Collins
  • Maeve Bosteels
  • Conor Kelleher
  • Ona Barrett
  • Daniel Morrisson
  • Kate Dorney
  • Jade Meth

Second Year Students of the Year

  • Mark Hogan
  • Kevin Cogan
  • Karen Baxter
  • Alison Adriaason
  • Aaron Murray
  • Ivan O’Herlihy
  • Mark Kelly
  • Lonsau Ahmed

Third Year Students of the Year

  • Sam Davies
  • Mark Healy
  • Emanuela Inonkova
  • Erika Kenny
  • Gabriel Kumoreh
  • Alannah Neff
  • Kelly Walsh

Special Achievements/Recognition

Scholarships & Awards arising out of Leaving Cert 2016: Emma Lambkin

President’s Awards – Gaisce

  • Sara Frankowska
  • Orlaith Hickey
  • Shane Hourihan
  • Claudia Lyons
  • Benjamin Miekle
  • Leonard Murphy
  • Grace O’Donnell
  • Si O’Sullivan
  • Roma Rosborough Gardiner
  • Meadhbh Ryan
  • Chloe Tobin

 Special Recognition Award for Outstanding Success

  • Adam Ryan (All-Ireland Medal for Blind Football)
  • Kieran Byrne (Gold & Silver Medal in Munster Special Olympics)
  • Ciaran McLoughlin (One of Design Team for new Autism App)
  • Joseph McGinty (Overall Contribution to School Community)
  • Hazel Ryan – Winner National Poetry Writing Competition
  • Oliwia Brzuszczynska – 2nd Place National Poetry Comp.
  • Marinelise Constantini – Highly commended National Poetry Comp

1st Year Buddy/Mentor Group

  • Liam Óg Beausang
  • Daniel Greene
  • James Coughlan
  • Ian Giltinan
  • Niamh Hand
  • Leah Deasy
  • Grace Condon
  • Aisling Moran
  • Sienna Bosonnet

Performing Arts Perpetual Award: Aideen Fox (Drama), Ríoghnach Hurley (Music)

Sean O’Mahony Perpetual Award: Luke Watson

Sarah Walsh Perpetual Trophy: Hazel Ryan

Coveney Perpetual Award: Caoimhe Coughlan

Croí na Teanga: Orlaith Hickey

Sports Awards

  • Junior Sports Personality of the Year: Rachel O’Regan
  • Senior Sports personality of the Year: Patrick McSweeney
  • CCS U-17 Soccer Captain (Munster Champions): James McSweeney

Student of the Year Awards – Senior Cycle

Transition Year Student of the Year

  • Meadhbh Gaffney
  • Katie Marah
  • Cian Forde
  • Richard O’Leary
  • Sean Lynch
  • Ian Giltinan

Fifth Year Student of the Year

  • Jack Buttrum
  • Ciara Harrington
  • Jack Cronin
  • Zofia Ligas
  • Joyce Ruben
  • Maya Shears
  • Ruairi Maguire
  • Conor O’Driscoll
  • -Julia Moxley

Sixth Year – Student of the Year

  • Rebecca Russell
  • Michelle Collins
  • Peter O’Reilly
  • Eric Desmond
  • Hannah Shalloo
  • Samantha Calthrop
  • Rachel Shorey
  • John Barry
  • Michael Fehily

Overall  Junior & Senior Cycle Student of the Year

Allex Kiely (Junior Cycle)

Hannah Shalloo (Senior Cycle)

Hall of Fame

Niamh McCarthy

Bríd Stack